So, what do you do when it is 101 outside (again) and you really want to make something sweet.

You find a no-cook recipe, that’s what!!!

I recently acquired a few new cookbooks (Mom moved and could not keep all of them, good for me, sad for her…). Anyway, one of them was the Red Hatter’s Cookbook This is not a cookbook I was going to keep, but after I read thru’ it – allll of it – I found it has some great recipes. This is one of them.

Corn Flake No-Bakes

    1 cup white corn syrup
    1 cup sugar
    2 cups peanut Butter
    4 cups fresh corn flakes (FRESH!!)

Bring the corn syrup and sugar to a boil in a large saucepan. Boil for one minute, stirring constantly so not to scorch. Remove from heat. Stir in the peanut butter then the corn flakes. Drop by teaspoons or tablespoons onto a cool surface. Hide cookies from the family!!! (I usually put mine in the fridge to cool them and keep them crunchy. 36 – 48 cookies.


I have now made these two days in a row. “Hey, these are really good!!” says hubby. ( And since I got 50 cookies from one batch, they aren’t THAT high in sugar….yeah! Right!)

