I live in a small town. We have about 14,000 people. We live outside of town about 7 miles. I like living in a small town. Low Crime Rate. Good Schools. Nice neighbors. There is only one small problem. It is not a good place to find some common foods. Yeah, sure, there is plenty of catfish, lots of crawfish, and and even a good bakery across the river. But there is NO GRANOLA IN THIS TOWN. There are no health food stores. We are across the river from a town with about 46,000 people. And guess what – yup!!! NO GRANOLA!!!! WHAT’S A MOTHER/BAKER TO DO??? Make your own I guess. So that is what I did. Scoured the net and bloggers to find a good granola recipe. Found one. Actually I found several – one from Smitten Kitchen. Another from Kathy Nichols and one from fellow TWD blogger Nancy at The Dogs Eat the Crumbs. Something interesting, they are all about the same. Since I had never made granola before I didn’t have the slightest idea of what to put in it. Now I Do!!!

Fresh Granola!

Fresh Granola!

And it is so much better than commercial ( I would imagine, even tho’ I never could find any….)Again, no recipe as they are at the links above. Main thing is – put in it what you like as long as you stick to the basics. I did.

So why did I need granola. Well, I could say it was a good healthy snack, I was tired of commercial granola cereal, I was bored….. but that wouldn’t be right. I needed it for this weeks TWD – Granola Grabbers. OOOHHH!!!! Chosen by Michelle of Bad Girl Baking. These are good! And healthy. And most of the ingredients that are in the cookie were already in the granola so they were really good – and easy!. I actually tried several ideas from the bloggers who were asking some questions. HoneyB tried them with Great Grains Cereal and said it worked. Amy used some chocolate chips. And Holly used M and M’s.

Colorful Grabbers

Colorful Grabbers

You are my kind of lady… All great ideas and all added an extra level of flavor. Your ideas helped make my Grabbers great. And the best thing about these cookies — they are never the same twice because of the granola. Different recipe — Different cookie. Thanks, Dorie!!