I promise this is the last time I will say, “How hard can this be?” Honest!!! I read the challenge and it looooooooked so simple. Simple recipe. Simple process. Elegant looking. “How hard can this be?” It’s the Daring Bakers CHALLENGE for a reason. Nothing is a easy as it looks. On some of the challenges you automatically know it is going to be a kicker. But this one really took me by surprise. First let me introduce you to my Tuile wanna be’s. dsc03211The first ones were more like cookies. Too thick to form. The second ones were warm and thin, but too brittle so when I tried to mold them they cracked. (That’s the wanna be’s up there). The third batch I spread out as thin as I could and managed to mold a couple and fill them with a simple chocolate mousse. Drizzle with chocolate. Not bad.dsc03213 I followed the recipe with just minor tweeks. I used almond extract rather than vanilla. I like almond and chocolate. And since I read the recipe several times but must have been ADHD at the time I missed the part about the chocolate powder and added it to the mix to begin with. I will definitely try again. Maybe the savories next time.

BTW: This months challenge is brought to us by Karen of Baking Soda and Zorra of 1x umruehren bitte aka Kochtopf.
They have chosen Tuiles from the Chocolate Book by Angelique Schmeink and Nougatine and Chocolate Tuiles from Michel Roux.


Visit their sites for the recipe and their beautiful results. And visit the other Daring Bakers for their variations.

