Ever since I saw Emeril make a galette on one of his shows I have been intrigued by them. A pie that is not made in a pan. Freeform. Upside down. What could be better??

    You don’t have to worry about moving the pastry into the pan.
    You don’t have to worry about shaping the pastry to fit the pan.
    You don’t have to worry about the pastry shrinking below the filling.

Again I say – What could be better??

    Cranberry Lime Orange Galette

Cranberries, apples, pecans, orange zest come together to form a sweet and tart filling for this rustic round non-pie. Yes, a Non-Pie!! It is also supposed to have ginger, but the pieces at the store looked older than China and kind of spooky. I thought about using ground ginger, but didn’t. Not because I couldn’t, I just plain forgot. I used ground pecans (it’s pecan {puh-con} {pea-can} season in the Deep South) and oranges instead of limes because the limes looked pretty spooky, too!! (And I’m not a big fan of lime!!) I also sprinkled some pecan pieces on top (…because I could…) and sprinkled Turbinado sugar over the entire galette.

Oh, My, but it smelled so good coming out of the oven!!!

Oh, My, but it tasted so good still warm from the oven!!!

Pefect mix of sweet and tart.

Good with a dash of whipped cream………………..Better without!!

And if you want to try it, you can go visit with Whitney, April, and Elizabeth of Celestial Confections for the recipe. Or you could just finally buy Dorie’s Baking From My Home To Yours {it’s on page 364}. Go on, you know you want to!! And of course visit with the other TWD Bakers and see if they used lime, orange, or some other flavoring in this rustic dessert.

NaBloPoMo Day 16.

NB: It is now 5 hours later and I just found the crumb nut mix on my counter. Ah, Well!!!!

