This is perfect weather for soup. Yes, I know. I just said that in my last post. But this is the second soup I have made this week. And I wouldn’t have made either of them if it had been warm outside. So cold weather = soup weather. There!!

That being said here is the second soup of the week.

    Paris Mushroom Soup

And it may not be pretty but the taste was sensational.

I have never made mushroom soup. I always thought it would be way to complicated. If I had known how easy it really was I would have made it years ago. But then I wouldn’t have had Dorie’s recipe for mushroom soup and it may not have been nearly as tasty. Sautee onions, garlic. Add mushrooms, white wine, rosemary, parsley. Add chicken broth and simmer. Puree. DONE!!! Yes, it IS just that easy.

It had a deep mushroom flavor with just a hint of the white wine. Excellent soup. Definitely a repeat.

The soup is served over a ‘salad’ {raw mushrooms, chives, scallions and parsley} which only enhances the flavor.

I made 1/4 of the recipe and that was a good sized single serving.

Just as Dorie promised, the hot soup cooked the ‘salad’ mushrooms just slightly. Just enough.

I will only make one change when (notice that’s not “IF”) I make it again I will leave out the scallions. I think they added a rather bitter taste to the soup which detracted from the mushroom flavor. But that’s just my opinion.

I found the recipe for the soup (but not the salad) online. So if you want to make it…..

And if you want to see how the other FFwD members liked the soup check out the blogroll.

