He has to have it with pudding!!!


And while you are thinking of bread and pudding think of Dorie’s Bourbon Bread Pudding!!!

We love bread pudding. Whenever I eat at certain places I ALWAYS try their bread pudding. I like to see different people’s ideas of what makes a good bread pudding. And I like it with just the basics. That means No Raisins!!! I don’t make it often because I seldom have the right type of bread or enough people to eat it. But Dorie’s simple but small ‘loaf’ of bread pudding solved that problem. By making it in a loaf pan instead of a large casserole or pan it could be sliced like bread. Thick slices or thin – depending on what you like. (And Ilike a nice thick slice!)

The recipe called for stale bread. Mine was definitely stale. In fact it was hard as a rock. Soaking is supposed to be one hour, but I had to leave the house, so it soaked for two hours. And that was just fine. After baking it was crispy and brown on ctop and wonderfully creamy inside. Perfect!!!

Cinnamon, Nutmeg, eggs, BOURBON, (which I just happened to have on hand. WILD TURKEY worked just fine) and equal amounts of milk and cream {Actually I used 1/2 and 1/2 because that is what I had – it IS 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream!!} It was delicious. And even tastier with a simple caramel drizzle on top.

This weeks sweet treat was chosen by Sharon of Simply Southern – a fellow Dixie Girl – and you can find the recipe with some great process shots on her blog.

Or you get your hands on a copy of Dorie’s Baking From My Home to Yours and bake along with us.

Thanks for this one, Sharon. LOVED IT!!!

