I know believe that chocolate is not my friend. Don’t get me wrong I still LOVE chocolate, but no matter what I tried I could NOT get chocolate to be a friendly partner for this week’s TWD.

      Chocolate Biscotti

Wait, let me amend that. Chocolate dipped Chocolate Biscotti with Caramel Drizzle. How decadent does THAT sound. Hungry yet!!

I learned several things making Dorie’s Biscotti.

    1. It’s a lot easier than I thought.
    2. White chocolate is NOT easy to melt (for me anyway)
    3. Chocolate dipped Chocolate biscotti is NOT easy to photograph. {Where’s Larry Robinson when you need him??**}
    4. Chocolate biscotti is GOOD!!!

Initially, the biscotti looked like this….

Dorie suggested we play around with it and dip it in White Chocolate. Tried to do that. Thought it would look pretty with some drizzled semi-sweet over the top. NOT!! I just could not get the White non-chocolate chocolate to melt and give me a dipable mixture. So I melted some semi-sweet intead. Not nearly as easy to photograph, but tasty. Then, since one of my Twitter Buddies – Whimsical Cupcake – does a lot of drizzling I decided to fancy them up a bit with caramel drizzle. Still tasty, but even harder to photograph.

I still have some plain biscotti left. I know there is a way to ‘decorate’ them. But you know what? IT’s not how they look, it’s the taste that counts. And these tasted DELICIOUS.

I made 1/2 the recipe which gave me one loaf which cut into nine cookies. I used slivered almonds and left out the expresso (I just never buy it!) Good stuff!!

The Biscotti is thanks to Jacque of Daisy Lane Cakes. You can find the recipe on her blog. Thanks, Jacque. These were good.

And check out the rest of the members of TWD and their cookies. I know there will be lots of variety on these. Maybe some of THEM managed to get their white chocolate to work.

(* Dorie refered to the biscotti as “…an army of biscotti-and bake the cookies again…”)
** Larry Robinson was a photography studio nationwide when I was growing up. I don’t think they are around any more.}

