Michelle of what was then Sugar and Spice celebrated her 100th blog post with Dorie’s Brown Sugar-Pecan Shortbread Cookies as the FIRST Tuesdays with Dorie selection. That was 4 years ago. Michelle is now The Brown Eyed Baker and still going strong. Her shortbread cookies are beautiful, mine are, well… eh. BROWN!!

I’m not sure if it was the dark brown sugar {recipe called for light brown}, the fact that I MAY have baked them a little too long {21 minutes rather than 18 – 20} and while a minute doesn’t seem like a lot {unless you are waiting for something REALLY important} it can be major for baking. Or my oven just doesn’t like me!! Whatever, they are sooo brown. And they baked together, AND the little holes in the cookies disappeared. But they were really good. Next time (?) bake less time, light brown sugar, bigger holes, and buy a new oven (well, maybe not THAT one!!)

The recipe is in Dorie’s Baking From My Home to Yours (pg 127) and on Michelle’s blog.

{And yes I do know these were supposed to be last week, but I cannot read!!} So visit Nancy and Leslie and I know others are going back to make the ones they missed. If I find them, I’ll link to them.

