“Oatmeal Is Hot Stuff”

So says Ellie on the page with her recipe for this breakfast treat. And she is right! Oatmeal is so good and so good for you. I try to eat it at least 3 mornings a week – more when it is cold outside. It just sticks to your ribs and keeps you warm. Anytime I can add a little ‘something’ to the oatmeal to dress it up I am all for it.

Like adding dried cherries and jam.

Take your basic oatmeal and add in vanilla extract, dried cherries, and jam. Ellie calls for cherry jam but all I had in the fridge was muscadine, so I went with that.

What is a MUSCADINE you say??

    Muscadines (Vitis rotundifolia) are a grapevine species native to the present-day southeastern United States that has been extensively cultivated since the 16th Century. Its natural range is recognized in the following states of the US: Alabama, Arkansas, the Carolinas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. They are well adapted to their native warm and humid climate; they need fewer chilling hours than better known varieties and they thrive on SUMMER HEAT

In other words it is a wonderful little wild grape that makes a perfectly delicious jelly that can be widely found at farmer’s markets and fetes in the summer. And while it is NOTHING like cherry jam it is sweet and blended very well with the dried cherries in the oatmeal. AT first I thought I wouldn’t like the little ‘lumps’ of jelly in the oatmeal, but they were the BEST Part. And while I probably won’t be adding dried fruit to my oatmeal again, I WILL be adding different types of jams or jellies.

Ellie’s recipe is on page 36 of The Foods You Crave.

Visit Craving Ellie in My Belly and see what the other members cooked up this week from Ellie’s healthy recipes.

