Last week I got back into CEinMB cooking with Ellie’s Turkey Meatloaf. We did not eat it alone.

These are not your every day mashed potatoes, these are SMASHED potatoes. Potato pieces steamed in their skins then mashed with sour cream, snipped chives, and chicken broth. I love CHUNKY potatoes. And these still have their skins so they were very rustic and very good. The sour cream and chives made me think of a deconstructed baked potato. Lots of sour cream. They would be good with some added shredded cheese, too.

The fact that I could walk outside and snip off my own chives made these especially fun, too.

I followed Ellie’s recipe with one exception – I cooked the potatoes in the microwave – like baking them – and then cut them into chunks. And then because I didn’t have the moisture from steaming I added a little more chicken broth. Um! UM! GOOD!!

If you like to cook from Ellie’s books just come on by the web page – Craving Ellie in My Belly – and leave your link. No membership required!!

