While there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with Chocolate and Strawberries together in this case they appear in two different treats from Dorie for Tuesdays with Dorie.

June 3, 2008.

    French Chocolate Brownies

Why FRENCH chocolate? Dorie’s Story: She made a chocolate cake while in Paris. When she carried them out to her guests…”I was greeted by a chorus of ‘Oh, Brownies — splendide.'” So they stayed Brownies even after a Parisian Pastry Chef asked for the recipe!

These are chewy, fudgy, delicious!! All 64 square inches of them {8 x 8 pan}

What makes these brownies a little unusual is the inclusion of cinnamon and raisins. While not a fan of raisins I did put them in, just not as many, and they gave a little extra depth to the bites with them. And the cinnamon, while barely there {1/8 tsp}, was still part of the flavor!!

Thank you, Di, for a great pic (her first of two!)

      *******************************

LIKE I said – there is nothing wrong with Chocolate and Strawberries and in this dessert they were together!. [May 10, 2008] It wasn’t what Dorie called for when she included La Palette’s Strawberry Tart in BFMHTY but I dont’ think she will mind if I used a chocolate tart crust!!!

Whatever crust you use you end up with a surprisingly simple but extremely elegant dessert.

The strawberries are simply tossed with a little sugar, some liqueur {Dorie suggests kirsch but I used Creme d’Almond}, spooned over the crust which has been spread with Strawberry Jam and Voila – instant elegance!! Topped with Crème fraîchewhipped cream with a little Creme d’Almond it was wonderful!

The only REAL measurement in the entire recipe is the crust which is 9″. The rest of it is loose and really left up to the baker. Since I am only making mini’s these days I used Dorie’s 5″ Chocolate Shortbread Tart Crust (page 446). Like I said – Chocolate and Strawberries!!!

The recipe for the tart is on page 374 of Dorie’s Baking From My Home to Yours. And many, many thanks to Marie of A Year from Oak Cottage for this choice {and a GREAT blog to read!}. So easy. So delicious!!

There were 5 treats I missed for May over the four years. So three more for my next Catch-Up post!!

