Because of my Friend Leslie I have discovered Penseys. If you aren’t familiar with Penzeys it is a Spice Outlet. It carries so many spices. Some I haven’t heard of. Some I am just now familiar with. Included in the catalog and on-line are some awesome recipes. Desserts, sides, poultry, beef. You name it there are recipes for it – four years worth.

And in the Summer 2012 catalog was this one.


Cinnamon Graham Cracker Ice Cream.

    1 3/4 Cups heavy cream
    12 oz. nonfat plain Greek yogurt
    1 tsp. PURE VANILLA EXTRACT
    4 TBL. honey {From my B-I-L’s hives!}
    4 TBL. maple syrup
    3/4 tsp. CINNAMON
    2 large rectangular graham crackers, broken into pieces
    2 l.4-oz. bars chocolate-covered toffee, broken into small bits {I used Heath toffee bits}

Beat the heavy cream in a large bowl until thick (2-3 minutes).
Fold in the yogurt, VANILLA, honey, maple syrup and CINNAMON.
Pour into your ice cream maker.
Add the remaining ingredients a couple of minutes before the ice cream is fully thickened.
Pour into a l 1/2-quart freezer-safe bowl with a lid and chill until hardened.
If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you can put the original mixture into the freezer-safe bowl and freeze for 2 hours. Then, stir the mixture and add the graham cracker and toffee bits. Continue to stir it every 2 hours, for up to 6 hours. Then, chill until hardened.
This was a good ‘solid’ ice cream. Full of pieces of graham cracker and the little toffee nuggets were just right {although I can understand how the chocolate covered ones would be even better!!}. The cinnamon was just lingering after each bite so I think I would increase it by about 1/2. But it is good just the way it is

Add this one to your Ice Cream Line-up! Good stuff!!

