You’re kidding, right? A cake with 1 1/2 cups of Olive Oil? Won’t it be extra heavy? Won’t it taste like OIL??

No!

Yes!

NO!

NO!

This wasn’t a light cake but it wasn’t heavy like I expected with all the oil. The texture was similar to cornbread. It was slightly sweet and delicious. I only made 1/3 of the recipe which fit quite well in my little oval Wilton pan. Just enough for two of us (and some in the freezer). I topped it with orange flavored whipped cream and topped with mandarin oranges. Perfect dessert after a heavy meal.

This cake is quick to make as are many of Malgieri’s recipes.

I found the recipe on katrina’s blog she/s in the kitchenBut you really should find Nick’s the Modern Baker. Lovely recipes and beautiful photographs. Well worth it!!

<There is still time to join the Modern Baker Challenge. We are doing CAKES through the end of December!!

