Today is Tuesday. And while I should be talking about Biscotti I decided to to some more catch-up instead. And I really wasn’t in the mood for biscotti which is what the BwJ Bakers were making for today!!

I love scones so when I saw that there were two scone recipes I missed these were high on my list. Unfortunately the first ones underwhelmed me.

    Apple Cheddar Scones

Sorry, Dorie, but these were pretty bland. I used sharp cheddar cheese but I really couldn’t taste the cheese. I used the dried apple, chopped fine, but they ended up being little tough nuggets in the scones. Next time I would use pieces of fresh apple. I served the scones with some Honey Apple Butter we picked up on our last camping trip. Good stuff.

There was this little stand….

…on the side of the road. Anyway, the butter was perfect with these scones.

1/2 of the recipe gave me about 6 really good sized scones. Thanks to The Floured Apron who loves breakfast and choose these for us to bake July 1, 2008. You can find the recipe on her blog and on page 32 of Dorie’s book.

    **********************

July 8, 2008, was Blueberry Pie Day!! I have to confess I have never made blueberry Pie. In fact I have never even HAD Blueberry Pie. I KNOW!! I really wasn’t a blueberry fan until recently. Boy, I didn’t know what I was missing. We planted some plants this summer but they really haven’t produced yet. We visited a Farmer’s Market last week and these big, fat, sweet, juicy berries were calling my name!! I had forgotten all about the pie until I got home. It was fate!!

I cannot begin to describe how excellent this pie is. Sweet and creamy. I was afraid it was going to be runny but by the time time pie cooled it was just right!! The berries have everything to do with the way this pie turns out. If we had bought the berries that were tasteless and mealy the pie would have been AWFUL!! But with good berries – good pie! Delicious Pie!! Repeat soon Pie!! Amy….

….GREAT PICK!! Amy has South in Your Mouth and the recipe is on her lovely blog. (Page 361 in BFMHTY) As usualy, I made 1/2 of the recipe and that gave me three 5″ mini pies. This is definitely in our top FIVE from Dorie’s book.

