So when doesn’t chocolate cake taste like chocolate?

When you mix in Blackberry Jam!

This is one combination I would not have come up with, but Nick puts the two flavors together in a delightful little bundt cake and it was quite tasty. The taste of chocolate is actually only a background taste even tho it is a chocolate cake. The blackberry jam (1 cup) is the big flavor in this cake.

I made 1/2 of the batter with the plan to make a 6″ bundt but then decided I could use small ones for bribes gifts and ended up with 1-4″ bundt and 3 smaller ones. Pretty with powdered sugar. Delicious with just a little chocolate whipped cream!!

The recipe is in Malgieri’s the Modern Baker on page 233. But I also found it on Amanda’s Blog and an adapted version with some delightful bundt shapes on my Friend Nancy’s Blog. And, yes Kayte, you cannot taste the chocolate!! LOL

