Sitting in my pantry is a clean PB jar filled with something. I thought I knew what it was, but I wasn’t sure. I had forgotten to label it. There was a piece of paper in the jar with a number. Just a number. 5087.

    What Are You??

I knew where I had purchased it so I called Whole Foods, gave them the number and they confirmed what I thought I knew – semolina flour. PERFECT!! NOW I can make …

    Nick Malgieri’s Semolina Bread

This was supposed to be a free-form loaf but it started to spread so much I slipped it into a loaf pan, which partially deflated it. I thought the bread would be dense and inedible but the crumb was just perfect.

The dough is a very wet and very sticky and can be difficult to work with. Rolling the into a cylinder on a floured surface was just enough to bring it under control (I thought).

Having never made bread with semolina flour I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was delightfully surprised to have a chewy, crunchy, slightly salty loaf of bread. Even though it only has 3/4 cup of semolina flour it has less than two cups of flour so I was expecting more of a cornbread like texture. Which would have been just fine, too.

Anna of Keep it Luce and Renee of The Way to my Family’s Heart were the co-hosts this week and the recipe for the bread is on both of their blogs. Thanks Ladies. Now I have a new bread to bake. Regularly!!

And please visit Tuesdays with Dorie for the other member’s lovely loaves. If you Have Julia Childe’s Baking With Julia it is on page 102. Contributing Baker was Nick Malgieri.

