It is still HOT here in the Deep South so a simple light stir-fry seemed perfect for this week. Yes, I know, it is COLD in Australia where two of our members live. But this stir-fry/soup is perfect for both.

Made with bok-choy, shitake mushrooms ginger, garlic, and chillis it is spicy and light.

I did make a couple of substitutions. Donna listed dried somen or Chinese Wheat noodles which I could not find. I had a choice of soba or rice sticks in the pantry so I went with the rice sticks. They seemed a better fit for the lightness of this dish. AND I left out the chilli because I am just not a fan. Because of that the dish lost some of it’s spicyness. Next time I will include them.

And I think baby bok-choy would have been better – it’s not quite as tough.

All i all I did like this dish. It is light, quick, and easy to put together. Thanks, donna. And thanks to Chaya for this week’s pick from Donna’s off the shelf: cooking from the pantry.

Check out Kayte’s, Chaya’s, and Gaye’s blogs to see how they liked it.

The recipe, although for all practical purposes you can play with the amounts to suit your taste, is on page 62.