It is late now. And I am just getting around to making Hummus for French Fridays with Dorie. I was out of town off and one most of the week and never thought to actually make it ahead. That would have been the smart thing to do, but…. but then I wouldn’t have had fresh hummus all to my self for dinner. So maybe it’s a good thing to be late.

I have to tell you, Hummus is not the most picturesque dish in the world. It’s brown. It’s, eh… brown!! But it is good and the first time I have made it and liked it. I think it was the edition of the ground cumin. It is a wonderful spice found in so many different culture’s foods. And it was a great edition even though it was an optional one, according to Dorie. Hummus is so easy. Four basic ingredients – chickpeas, tahini, garlic, and lemon juice (and the cumin). Just mix it all together and you have hummus.

Dorie said we could “house hummus” so I did. By adding about 1/4 of a cup of Roasted Red Pepper. This is my favorite flavor so it was just easy to add it in. And while regular hummus is eh, brown, adding the red pepper resulted in a lovely reddish hummus.

I had to add a little extra salt after I added the red pepper. I don’t know why. I think the addition of a little Cajun seasoning would be quite tasty with this.

This would have been a whole lot easier if I had found some tahini. Actually did find some but it was huge jar and I didn’t know what I would do with the leftovers. Tahini is simply sesame seeds and oil. I only made enough for this recipe (1/3 cup). I used the method I found HERE. I probably lost a lot of it because since it was such a small amountand it was way too little for the FP. I started with a smaller FP and then had to change blades. Ah, well. Still fun to make.

Please visit French Fridays with Dorie to find out if the other members liked Dorie’s hummus. I know I did.

You can find the recipe on page 19 of Around My French Table.

