It has been a long time since I have had veal. And it looks like it’s going to be longer still. I went to several grocers/butchers in the area and there were NO veal cutlets anywhere. Sometimes one does get them but they are almost $20/lb. No veal in our future. But I didn’t want to skip this week’s Donna Hay recipe so I subbed in some beef cutlets instead.

This reminded me quite a bit of Wiener Schnitzel which is a veal cutlet dipped in egg and bread crumbs. This cutlet is dipped only in egg whites and grated Parmesan cheese. With salt and pepper it is a tasty treat. The only problem I had was the crust sticking to the pan and not to the cutlet. Donna serves hers with a basil-tomato sauce which she just puts on the plate. It seemed awfully lonely by itself with just a cutlet for company so I mixed mine with some pasta as a side dish. Tomatoes, onions, brown sugar, and fresh basil is all it took to make a slightly sweet and delicious sauce.

This was Gaye’s choice this week. It is from Hay’s off the shelf: cooking from the pantry on page 94.

Chaya and Kayte MAY have made it as well.