There are several not so healthy foods I really enjoy – but only occassionally. One of them is PIZZA! Yes, we are talking about the regular cheesy, tomatoey, mushroom and sausage pizza. We have a couple of GOOD places here in town but I also like to make my own. Again – not very often because I like LOTS of goodies on mine. ‘Specially cheese. When I was reading this month’s choices for Baking with Julia all I saw was one word – PIZZA! It wasn’t until I really started looking at the recipe that I realized just how different this pizza was going to be.

P1000667

    Pizza with Onion Confit

This was a pizza with not tomato sauce, no thick layers of cheese, no meat. Yes, it was definitely different.

I was afraid I would not like it – onions caramelized in red wine and red wine vinegar. EWWW!! But – wait – new horizons, out of the box! Different but GOOD!!!!

P1000664

I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt I would be the only one in the entire household (two of us) who would even think of trying this one (and I wasn’t sure about me….) so I made the whole recipe of pizza dough (can always use THAT) and 1/3 of the Confit. I used 1/3 of the dough and made one 7″ pizza with the confit, olives, and shredded Parmesan cheese. Good choice! I liked the flavor of the whole pizza but it not something I would eat every day.

Our host this week is Paul of The Boy Can Bake and he has on his blog.

