This week it was Chaya’s turn to pick a recipe for us to have fun with. She chose…

P1000944

    Soy-Simmered Chicken

It is a quick and easy recipe for a nice little chicken supper.

The chicken breasts are cooked in a mixture of sesame oil, soy sauce, ginger and brown sugar along with a little Chinese cooking wine, star anise, and a cinnamon stick. I served it with some leftover saffron spiced rice (from Madjur Jaffrey).

I only made one small change – instead of simmering the chicken I baked it in the oven with some other chicken wrapped in foil. It was nice and moist. I added a little extra sesame oil and wine whick gave what I thought was the perfect taste.

You can find the recipe on page 100 of Donna’s Modern Classics Book 1 or on An Empty Stomach is the Best Cook.

See What Chaya, Kayte, and Gaye thought of this one.

