The thing I like about Donna Hay is how she takes simple ingredients. Combines them in different ways and broadens my horizons with new flavors. I love sweet potatoes but I would NEVER have thought to make soup with them in a mix with onion and chicken stock. But Donna did. And while I am still not sure if I liked her sweet potato soup I do know it was different.

P1030423

Sautee some chopped onions and chopped up sweet potato. Add some broth. Cook. Blend smooth. Top with goat’s cheese and basil. Eat.

Except I made one small change. I baked the sweet potato which I think deepened the flavor some. After it cooled I cut it up and added it to the sauteed onions and broth. I used some garlic herb goat cheese, which mixed in after pictures really brought out some great flavor. Okay, I liked it! Did the other ladies of Wednesdays with Donna Hay? Visit and see.

Chaya, who chose the recipe,
Gaye,
Kayte,
Sarah.

The recipe is online on Donna’s site if you want to try it.

