I have only made one other cake roll. Well, ALMOST made. Chocolate. For my Mom’s birthday. Years ago. It didn’t work out. At all. So I was a little leery about this weeks cake – a chiffon cake roll. The chocolate one completely fell apart as I tried to roll it. Whatever I did wrong was major. MAJOR!! So I never tried it again. UNTIL….NOW.

P1030608

You can see that it worked out just fine.

What you are looking at is a simple, okay, not really simple, vanilla chiffon cake that is rolled around a nutty chocolate mousse. The recipe called for walnuts but we aren’t fans so I used pecans instead. That worked out well.

The cake is 17 inches long so I immediately cut it in half and froze part of the cake. Sprinkled with powdered sugar and drizzled with some chocolate ganache it was pretty and tasty. I did make one change. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda subbed in for an equal amount of the sugar in the cake. It came out just fine. I would also advise you to chill the cake a little before you roll it up with the mousse. Some of the mousse was pushed out.

This would be an easy cake to roll around other fillings – ice cream, lemon curd, the possibilities are endless. Guess I will be making more rolled cakes now that I know I can do it.

P1030609


The recipe was contributed to Baking with Julia by Mary Bergin. You can find the recipe HERE and there is also a video of the cake being made. But you really need to buy the book – Baking with Julia and try all the recipes in it along with the members of Tuesdays with Dorie..

