P1030631

    Let’s just call these…….Bialy Towers.
    See the small picture behind them? They are SUPPOSED to look like those!!

They tasted like Bialys. There was a nice subtle onion flavor IN the bread. Unfortunately the similarities end there. They rose, and rose, and rose in the oven even though I depressed them and pricked them – more than once.

P1030629

The onions fell off, after they burned, but the bread was delicious.

Once the sponge is made and risen, sautéed onions {I couldn’t find my Poppy Seeds even tho I KNOW I have some!!} are added into the mix just before the flour is added to make a nice soft dough. With just the right amount of crispy crust.

P1030632

I KNOW the other Bialys baked around the world for today’s Baking with Julia came out beautifully. So go check them out.

The rceipe was contributed by Lauren Groveman and is on page 90 of Baking with Julia in Dorie Greenspans compilation of the recipes from Julia’s television series.

