Mushrooms, cheddar, and red peppers. Is there any better combination for a tart? Nope, I didn’t think so. But then you add the cheese IN the crust and it really takes it to another level. I was soooo glad I bought the Vermont Cheese Powder on a whim one day!

P1030755

    Mushroom Cheddar Tarts

As I was enjoying the tarts I was thinking – what is missing? Plenty of ‘shrooms, plenty of peppers, plenty of cheese, yet I still thought something was lacking. So before I baked a second batch I added more salt and thyme and a little cayenne to the filling. BINGO!! That did the trick! AND they were better at room temp then they were just baked. And by the next day the filling had had time to blend together more. They were so much better the next day.

P1030758


I only made 1/2 of the recipe and I made them in 4″ tart pans rather than the muffin cups. 1/2 of the recipe yielded enough dough for 6 4″ tarts, enough filling for only 4. I also used Egg beaters for part of the eggs. Trying to lower our calories and cholesterol and fat. The recipe is from King Arthur Flour

And you can find the other Avid Baker Challenge Tarts on the ABC website after March 3, after everyone has posted their tarts. And if you want to join in – the rules are there.

see you next month with – 100% Whole Wheat Cinnamon Swirl Bread.

