I make a lot of scones. Some I post about (20 anyway). Some I don’t. I have to tell you, these are definitely in my top two recipes. Thank you, Marion Cunningham! I made the whole batch because I had been invited to a friend’s house for tea. She is from Scotland so she is my taste tester when it comes to scones. She agreed, these were very, very good ones.

P1030793

They rose beautifully due to the Buttermilk AND baking powder AND baking soda! They were sweet but only a little. They were delicious with just some Irish butter or with jam and butter. I was wishing I had some clotted cream, but…alas…it is all gone.

I went to her house with 12 scones. I came home with 4 and just barely had a chance to photograph them before they disappeared. Guess I will just have to make more!! Twist my arm!!!!

I did make a couple of changes – minor. I didn’t have any zest so I left it out. I made the dough in the food processor. I also patted the dough out into circles and used sugar instead of flour on the board, so both sides got sugared. They turned out just fine.

The recipe is on page 210 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking with Julia but you can also find it on line – Buttermilk Scones

This was our ‘assignment’ this week for the Baking with Julia group so drop on the other BAKERS and share their scones.

P1030794

