What does Donna do best? Simple and flavorful – to quote a friend. And that is what this dessert was. Simple. But maybe NOT so flavorful. A simple custard topped with pear slices and nutmeg.

P1030821

Eggs, cream, sugar, vanilla. Cook. Serve. Eat. I mean, really, does it get any easier? Top some pear slices on top before baking. Sprinkle with nutmeg (and maybe a little whipped cream). See! Easy!

I made 1/2 of the recipe which resulted in three 4″ bowls of custard.

P1030810

The only change I made was in the type of pear. Donna called for a Corella, which we don’t have here so I used a Bosc instead. Also, I think next time I make the custard, too easy not to, {and custard is so comforting!} I will add some more flavor to the custard itself. I welcome any ideas.

This weeks choice for Wednesdays with Donna Hay came from Sarah. So check out her custard and then go check with Gaye for hers.

The recipe for the custard is on Donna’s Website.

