I have to tell y’all that I LOVE tea!  I have always loved the taste, the fragrance, and complexity of making tea.  I learned to drink tea while living in England as a child.  I would come home from school and my all American mom would have tea and scones, or tea and toast, or tea and crumpets waiting for me.  It was great!  And what is tea without a plate of scones? So, there you have it.  This blog is about tea and scones (and maybe a few other Tea goodies, too).    I do have several favorite teas:  Golden Monkey, Lady Jane Grey, Masala Chai, a few flavored teas.  I also have some that I have tried that I don’t like and I will list those later, too. So here is my first recipe for you.

LAVENDER!!! It makes wonderful scones. They are lovely. I just made a batch and they came out so pretty. I am including a pic so you all can see. I am looking for the perfect scone. These aren’t bad. They are sweet and flowery.  

Lavender Scones  

1 1/2 cups AP flour
1 T baking powder
4 T sweet, unsalted butter
1/4 cup sugar
2 t fresh lavender or 1 t dried cluinary lavender
2/3 cup milk (+ little extra for glaze)

I mixed all the dry in my processor, added the butter in small chunks to make a grainy mixture and then poured in the milk to make a sticky dough. I like using the processor and usually it works for me. If you don’t have one, mix by hand in a regular bowl. Turn dough onto a well floured surface. I didn’t roll out, but rather worked manually folding the dough 2 or 3 times and then pressing into a good sized round about 1/3 inch thick. I cut with a small biscuit cutter. Brush tops with a little milk and sprinkle with some lavender buds. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes at 425 until golden brown. Now you could cut into wedges as well. I hope these turn out as well for you as they did for me.

