I have an open house for Christmas this weekend, so I was looking for a ‘Christmas Scone’. Maybe something citrisy, a little red or green….. Orange sounded like a good idea, so I found a recipe for Orange Scones. Then I decided to add some color and a little spice and now I have Christmas Orange Scones. Not bad for a ‘new’ recipe. LIke Terry http://www.hungerhunger.blogspot.com, sometimes making a mistake sometimes brings rave reviews.

Christmas Orange Scones

    2 cups AP flour
    1/3 cup sugar
    2 1/2 t baking powder
    1/2 t ground cloves (maybe a little less, depending on your taste…)
    2 T grated Orange peel
    1/4 cup sliced marischino cherries (just enough to add some color without being too sweet)
    1/3 cup cold butter
    1/2 cup manderin oranges, chopped
    1/4 cup milk or cream
    1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 400. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and orange peel. Mix in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. I use a food processor and it makes it a lot easier. Add oranges, cherries, milk, and eggs. Mix until soft dough ball forms. Turn out on floured board and work briefly. Roll into about a 6 inch round. Sprinkle with 1 T sugar. Cut into wedges (8″). (The dough was a little wet so I used my scone pan. I think next time I will add a little bit more flour.) Bake 15 – 20 minutes .

Family liked them. I will try them on my friendly guinnea pigs tomorrow. If they like them they will be on the menu Saturday along with the Rooibos Cranberry Scones. And Orange Spice Tea.

Have a great week.