…Soda Bread. I wanted to bake bread quick, so I tried this one. It is a non-yeast bread.Baked Dough It was exceptionally easy to put together. Baked on Bake in my tabletop Convection oven so I wouldn’t heat up the kitchen since it IS now summer in Louisiana. The texture was great.Sliced BreadBut I didn’t care much for the taste. I just didn’t taste like bread. But I have never had Irish Soda Bread before, so ….. Anyway, it wasn’t bad. I think next time I may add some onion or garlic, or maybe just a little more salt. Or maybe just another recipe. But here is this recipe from Baking Sheets.

Traditional Irish Soda Bread

    2 1/2 cups AP flour
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 1/4 cups buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350 andline a baking sheet with parchment paper
In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and stir together. Add buttermilk and mix with a large spoon (I mixed mine in the mixer with the dough hook and it worked fine as long as I scraped the sides down) until dough comes together. You might need more/less liquid. Dough should be moist, but not so sticky it is very hard to handle (If it is too sticky, you can sprinkle on a little extra flour). Shape into a round and place on baking sheet. Cut an “X” in the top with a sharp knife. Bake 45 minutes until golden brown. Let cool on rack for 10 minutes before slicing.

Looking at one now from Paul Hollywood’s 100 Great Breads.

Has anyone else made Soda Bread?

Ah, well another day, another bread!!!