Now, I am a southern girl. And proud of it. And down here we fry a lot, actually we fry quite a lot. That is good. It is also bad. One thing we do like is cornbread in various forms. My Aunt Elaine makes the absolute best fried cornbread, EVER!! I wanted to share her/our family recipe.

Fried Cornbread

fried corn

    3 cups cornmeal
    1/2 cup AP flour
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    1 Tbl salt

    Boiling Water

Mix the dry ingredients. Meanwhile, bring water to a roiling boil and let it boil for a couple of minutes. When it is really boiling, add it gradually to the dry ingredients. Add enough ( I have never measured it) to make a heavy paste. As the water is added, it cooks the cornmeal. Mix well. Use a large spoon while the mix is still hot and form into balls and then patties. Fry in hot oil until golden brown. Turn and brown other side. Place on draining rack. Eat warm! Plain or with butter. UUUMMMMM GOOD!!

I try not to make these too often. U can understand why!

NB: When Aunt Elaine makes them she keeps a bowl of ice water handy to dip her hands in to cool them off as she shapes the hot cornmeal into cakes. I, however, am a coward. I wait until the corn mix has cooled before I dip my dainty southern fingers in.