When I was little there was no way I was going to eat squash (read: all veggies except corn). Today my tastes have changed, thank goodness, and there are a lot of veggies I eat with gusto – eggplant, squash, zucchini, okra, broccalli, cauliflower. And there are some I still cannot handle – brussel sprouts, raw tomatoes, any type of starchy bean. Yes, yes, I am strange, but my family loves me! So in the garden, as I reported earlier, are the squash and zucchini and the eggplant is coming alone. As promised here is one of my ‘garden’ recipes. This one is from my SIL, Diana, with great thanks.


    7 – 8 medium squash, sliced
    2 onions, chopped
    1 stick butter
    2 eggs
    1 bunch green onions, chopped
    1/2 cup milk
    2 cups shredded cheddar
    1/2 cup bread crumbs (more or less)

Boil sliced squash until tender. While boiling, melt butter in saucepan and saute onions until tender. Drain squash and mix all ingredients except cheddar cheese. Pour into oven safe deep dish and sprinkle liberally with cheddar cheese. Bake at 400 degrees at 55 minutes.

You may need more or less crumbs depending on your taste. I use a mix of zucchini and squash for this dish. Sometimes I add a little Italian seasoning to the bread crumbs. And I want to add some Japanese eggplant next time I cook this.

I forgot to take pics as I was preparing, or serving for that matter, so this is all I have. Sorry, readers!