I am adding to my repertoire. After 3o something years of cooking – almost every night – it is time to add a few new recipes to my collection. Last night I went out of the box for us. It became Mexican night. I found fairly easy recipes for Chicken Enchiladas and Spanish Rice.The Enchilada recipe came from one of my magazines (Taste of the South, Southern Lady, Paula Deen, I just don’t remember). But the recipe is from Nancy Breit (Thanks, Nancy).

Finished Enchiladas

Finished Enchiladas

I did make a few minor changes and will do some further changes next time, but here is the recipe.

    2 1/2 cups cooked chopped chicken (about 3 leg quarters/boneless breasts)
    1 10 ounce can mild enchilada sauce
    1 8 ounce package cream cheese, softened
    1/2 cup chopped onion
    2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese, divided
    1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese, divided (I used a mix of Jack and Colby cause that is what I had)
    1 16 ounce package 10-inch flour tortillas
    1 10.75 ounce can SW style Pepper Jack Soup
    1 8 ounce jar picante sauce.

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease a 13×9 baking dish.
In a large bowl, combine chicken, enchilada sauce, cream cheese and onion. Stir to combine. Add 1 cup Cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup Monterey Jack cheese. Spoon mixture evenly down center 1/3 of each tortilla. Roll up tortillas, and place seam side down in prepared baking dishIn a medium bowl, combine remaining cheese, soup, and picante sauce. Spoon mixture evenly over tortillas. Bake 30/35 minutes, or until hot and bubbly. I made a single with an 8 inch tortilla for lunch. These took some work, but they were worth it. They were quite good. Even the hubby liked and he is not big on Mexican Cuisine. There is one change I would make next time. I would use smaller tortillas next time. The 10 inch are just too big. I think the 8 inch would be better. I also couldn’t find the SW style soup, so I used 2/3 of a can of Progresso Carb Balance Chicken Enchilada Soup and that worked just fine. I am still looking for the soup.

And we couldn’t eat JUST enchiladas so I made some Spanish Rice to go with it. This recipe is from Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.
Spanish Rice

    1/2 cup chopped onion
    1/2 cup chopped green sweet pepper
    1 clove garlic, minced
    1 Tbl oil
    1 28 ounce can tomatoes, cut up (I used one 14 ounce can of stewed with garlic, onions and gn pepper and one jar of plain)
    3/4 cups long grain rice
    1 tsp sugar
    1 tsp chili powder
    Several dashes bottled hot pepper sauce ( I used Crystal Hot Sauce, but any would do)
    1 cup water
    1/2 cup shedded cheddar cheese (optional)

In a large skillet cook onion, pepper and garlic in hot oil til tender. Stir in undrained tomatoes, uncooked rice, sugar, chili powder, pepper sauce, 1/8 tsp pepper, and water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 20/25 minutes or til rice is tender and most of liquid absorbed. If desired sprinkle with cheese. (5 cups)I added a little extra rice as ther was a lot of liquid in my canned tomatoes. I also put the chili powder in with the garlic and onions as they were cooking.
All in all it was a good meal. Definitely in my collection now. Hope you enjoy it, too.