Those of us who are members of The Daring Bakers have completed another challenge. For those of you not familiar with this group, each month we are given a baking challenge to complete. Everyone bakes the same thing and at the end of the month we ‘present’ what we baked for the world to see. Some of the challenges have been relatively simple (compared to others). This one wasn’t so easy – at least not for me. This month it was Chocolate Éclairs by Pierre Hermé
from Dorie Greenshpan’s book, Chocolate Desserts By Pierre Hermé. Our hosts were Tony Tahhan and MeetaK.
I was ready for this challenge. I have always wanted to make Eclairs, so this was a great challenge. We had to use the pâte à choux recipe from the recipe given and we had to use chocolate as at least one element. Works for me!
Now we try not to eat a lot of sweets (and I join an online baking group!!!) so I decided to make some mini eclairs instead of the big ones. (That might have been my first mistake.)The dough recipe came together perfectly. I piped some cute little eclairs onto my baking sheet.

Little Bittys

Little Bittys

You can see I got a little creative – some long, some puffs, some circles. I baked them. I cooled them. They were pretty. And then, I SLICED THEM OPEN.Instead of one large cavity, I had lots of little cavities. Now, how am I supposed to fill these…..At least the puffs had nice full openings. As they cooled, they collapsed on the bottom. The next step was to make the pastry cream filling. The recipe was for chocolate, but I wanted something a little different, so I made a light chocolate Peanut Butter Pastry Cream (My second mistake.) It looked good, but the taste wasn’t what I wanted. I plogged on. I did make the chocolate sauce and it was perfect. I put my Little Bittys together. They actually came out pretty well, except for the taste of the Pastry CreamI want to try these again when I have some time. Make regular sized ones. Keep to the regular Pastry Cream. I did enjoy making these tho’.
Filled Itty Bitty

Filled Itty Bitty

Thanks for this one. It definately was a challenge. Bring on the next one – I AM READY!!!