This is my first time with this group, and I am proud to be a member of this group of bakers.. On a regular basis we bake bunches of cookies and send them off to the guys and gals serving in Afghanistan and Iraq. What is better than that??? I was member of Team Barefoot and our recipient was Joe

This is Joe!

This is Joe!

who is with the Air Guard in Afghanistan . One of the cookie recipes came from TWD Chunky Chocolate Oatmeal Peanut Butter Crispers. (That will be posted Tuesday.) I also made Chocolate Walnut Cookies. Easy Smeasy as they were made with a Cake Mix. And one more….Potato Chip Cookies. I hope they enjoy them as much as I enjoyed baking for them. They deserve more than just home made cookies for what they are doing for us and freedom.
Devil’s Food Cookies

    1 box Devil’s Food Cake Mix
    1/2 cup veggie oil
    2 eggs, beaten
    1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

Preheat oven to 350. Combine cake mix, oil, and eggs and mix well. Stir in nuts. Drop batter by teaspoons 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 10 minutes. Cool on wire racks. I got about 3 doz from this batch.

Potato Chip Cookies

    1 cup sugar
    1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
    1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
    2 eggs, beaten
    2 cups AP flour
    1 tsp baking soda
    2 tsp vanilla extract
    1 cup finely crushed potato chips
    1/2 cups chopped nuts (optional)
    Confectioners’ sugar
Potato Chip Cookies

Potato Chip Cookies

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl beat the sugars and butter until fluffy. Beat in the eggs. In a separate bowl sift the flour with the baking soda; add to the butter mixture. Stire in the vanilla, potato chips, and nuts. Drop by teaspoonfuls 3 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets. Bake 10/12 minutes. When cool, sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar for a nice touch. (@ 60 cookies) Thanks to Sue Scott (aka Queen of my Kitchen, of the Red Hatters (via The Red Hat Society Cookbook)


The first batch I made came out awful flat so I added about 1/2 cup more of AP flour and that helped some, but I added another 1/4 cup and they came out much better. Might be my oven, but you may want to bake a small batch and see if you need to add a little extra flour.
These all go in the mail on Tuesday (and with the hurricane, that may not be possible).

