Ya know what I like about TWD. Ya get to try new things. Really new things. This is one thing I have never even thought of making – Rugelach.

I mean, I make cookies, lots of cookies, but never anything like this. And ya know what – They. Were. Good!!! This weeks TWD challence was chosen by Piggy of Piggy’s Cooking Journal. Three reasons: They were easy; They were easy; and they were easy. <P

Besides that, they were darn tasty. I followed Dorie’s recipe almost to the letter. I changed the jam – all I had was peach. I used regular choco chips cause I didn’t have minis (they were too big, so next time – minis)I used pecans. Instead of sprinkling with plain sugar I used some of the cinnamon sugar left from filling the rugalech<P

And on some I sprinkled the cinnamon and sugar mixed with a little freshly grated nutmeg. These I baked in the convection oven and they were done in 16/17 minutes. After I had baked all of them I thought about putting cardamom on some. Next time. I think also, not chocolate. (Although earlier this month Nami-Nami made some and used cocoa powder.) Just nuts and spices. Better than the pumpkin muffins. And better than the chocolate cupcakes. Fancy smancy rugelach.