Do you know how many cooking mags there are out there these days. We should all be cooks extraordinaire. For many years i took Taste of Home, Cooking for Two, Simple and Delicious. They were good, but I didn’t really ‘get into’ the recipes. I used a few, but…. Then my mom started with Taste of the South, Southern Lady, followed by Cooking with Paula Deen. Guess who got all these when she was finished reading them. (I don’t think she ever used any of the recipes.) Now THESE are foodie mags. When I want something to just ‘read’ through while relaxing, watching t.v., treadmilling (is that a word?) these are what I pull out. *Sigh* Drool AAHH!! I have decided that ‘reading’ time is over and ‘cooking’ time has begun.

Here is the first recipe from one of those mags. This one from Taste of the South Spring 2007 issue.

Double PB Cupcake

Double PB Cupcake

    1 3/4 cups AP flour
    1 1/4 cups firmly packed medium brown sugar
    1 Tbl baking powder
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 cup milk
    1/2 cup creamy PB
    6 Tbl unsalted butter, room temp
    2 tsp vanilla extract
    2 eggs
    6 (2 inch) PB cups

Preheat oven to 350. Line a 6-cup Texas size (jumbo) muffin pan with paper lines or lightly coat with nonstick cooking spray (I actually spray my paper cups). Set aside
In a mixing bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt with an electirc mixer at medium-low speed. (There may be a few sugar lumps – it’s okay)
Add milk, PB, butter, and vanilla, beating for 1 minute at medium-low speed.
Add eggs, beating for 1 1/2 minutes at medium-high speed.
Divide batter among prepared muffin cups. Press a PB cup into center of each muffin cup. Smooth batter to cover PB cups.
Bake for 30 – 35 minutes or until cupcake tops are light brown and firm to the touch.dsc02980
Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. Cool for an additional 5 minutes before frosting.
Frost cupcakes with a generous amount (3/4 cup) of frosting.
Decorate tops with drizzled ganache and crushed peanuts.dsc02985

And the frosting….

    1 1/2 cups creamy PB
    1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
    1 cup powdered (confectioners) sugar
    1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
    2 tsp vanilla extract

Beat PB and butter with electric mixer at medium-hihg spped for about 3 minutes or until fluffy.
Add sugar, beat at medium-high spped for about 1 minute or until combined
Add cream and vanilla, beat at medium-high speed for about 1 minute or until fluffy
I did do these a little different – partly because I evidently cannot read instructions – partly because I wanted to try something. I baked some in the regular oven and some in the convection. The ones on the left are from the convection. They appear smaller because I put a little less batter.
The “I cannot follow instructions” part is the fact that I put the PB cup in the bottom of the muffin cup.dsc02986
These, according to Hubby Dear, were the best cupcakes he has ever eaten. He is a big time PB fan. These were really good, but I could only eat half of one because they are pretty rich. It’s a keeper. OH! I almost forgot. The cake batter tastes like peanut butter fudge!!!