I had good intentions. I really did. I looked everywhere for Arborio Rice – Kroger’s, Albertson’s, the all favorite W-M, to no avail. And the people I talked to had never even heard of Arborio rice. Just my luck. I have never had Rice Pudding before and was looking forward to trying it. Ah, well. Maybe when I visit the Big City I can find some and do a rewind sometime. Sorry, TWDers. I dropped the ball on this one.

But not to worry, I didn’t completely waste the day. I ended up making a favorite from my Childhood. Banana Nut Bread. I didn’t have a favorite recipe. I checked out several cookbooks – Martha, Red Hat, Good Housekeeping – and searched the food blogs. Would you believe I could not find a single recipe among the bloggers. Not for just plain ol’ every day Banana Nut Bread.

What’s a girl to do?? Back to the cookbooks. Finally, success!! Best Muffins and Quick Breads from Pillsbury. How could you go wrong with that?? dsc02998

    3/4 cup sugar
    1/2 cup butter, room temp
    2 eggs
    1 cup mashed bananas (about 2 ripe)
    1/3 cup milk
    1 tsp vanilla
    2 cups AP flour
    1/2 cup chopped nuts
    1 tsp baking soda

Heat oven to 350. Grease the bottom only of a 9 x 5 loaf pan or 8 x 4 loaf pan. In a large bowl combine sugar and butter and beat until fluffy and light. Add eggs and beat well. Add bananas, milk, and vanilla. Blend well.
In a small bowl mix together flour, nuts, soda and salt. Mix well. Add to banana mixture. Stir just until moistened. Pour into greased pan.
Bake 50 – 60 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes. Remove from pan. Cool one hourThis is a good BN Bread. Moist. Tasty. Great Texture. I only had one change I HAD to make. Discovered I was out of milk. Now, I had almost made Martha’s recipe which called for buttermilk. Didn’t have that either. So, I mixed equal amounts of 1/2 and 1/2 and water. Added a little vinegar. Voila – Buttermilk. Only problem, Pillsbury didn’t call for Buttermilk. Used it anyway. Still good!