AS if I don’t have enough to do in my life – family, school, etc. – I joined yet another on-line ‘baking club.’ I couldn’t help my self. I already had the cake book, they had just started, and it looked like fun. So which one is it – The Cake Slice Bakers. We are baking from Sky High: Irresistable Triple Layer Cakes.

So many cakes, so little time. But I did make time for this one. We had a family reunion this weekend and this cake was perfect.

The choice was a lovely 3-layer Sweet Potato Cake

Sweet Potato Cake

Sweet Potato Cake

. Now, I have to tell you, I looked really hard at this cake, and in the book this cake looks orange. My frosting isn’t orange. Was yours orange? I read and re-read the recipe and could not figure out why the book’s cake was orange. My frosting is CHOCOLATE. And it looks like chocolate. That’s okay with me. The rest of the cake came out like I thought it would. It is basically a spice cake made with Sweet Potato. Lots of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and I added just a touch more. The filling was orange flavored. It added a new twist to the cake. I didn’t change the orange filling so, otherwise it was just as the recipe said. The texture was great. I did have a little problem with the cake. I had only made one other cake from scratch using Cake Flour and it didn’t rise – at all. This one just cake out a little lop-sided. dsc02988 I just could not get it to straighten up. When I put the top layer on it started to slide. Put it in the fridge hoping the filling would stiffen. It did, but as I was frosting it the slide continued. All I could do was hope for the best. Fortunately, it made it to the reunion in one piece and it was a hit. This goes into my, “Let’s make it again.” list. If you want to see how the other cakes turned out to The Cake Slice Bakers. One of them will have the recipe posted if you want to try it. It iiiiisssss good!!!