Spices! Even the word invokes mystery, exotic travel, extraordinary fragrances and tastes. Ginger. Cinnamon. Nutmeg. Cloves. Take a deep breath, close your eyes and imagine. These are usually associated with sweet luscious desserts from far away places. But so often we use them to simply enhance the flavor of everyday treats. Tea breads. Scones. Ice Cream. This weekend I had a need to bake, and bake with spices, so today I have two treats for y’all.

Cinnamon Scones and Gingerbread.

The Scones come from the Southern Lady Magazine. An article on the Magnolia and Ivy Tea Room caught my eye. I have seen them mentioned several times in various mags. This time they were gracious enough to share a recipe with the readers –
Cinnamon Scones.

    3 cups self-rising flourdsc03009

    1 Tbl cinnamon
    1/2 cup sugar
    1 stick butter
    1 cup buttermilk
    1/4 cup raisins
    Egg Whites

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, and sugar
Using a pastry blender, cut in butter until mixture is coarse and crumbly.
Add buttermilk and raisins, stirring to make a soft dough.
Turn dough onto lightly floured board and pat to 1-inch thick. Cut with biscuit cutter
Place scones close together on a greased cookie sheet. Brush tops with egg white.
Bake 400 degrees about 10 minutes or until lightly browned.
Enjoy. Okay, I have to admit the flavor of these was really good. The subtle hint of cinnamon was just enough. There are some changes I would make, however. Patting them an inch thick makes them too thick, at least for me. I would divide the dough in half and pat them about a little over 1/2 thick next time. The dough was a little moist so I would add a touch more flour and work the dough a little. It seemed crumbly. Hubs said they weren't too crumbly, but he ate his after they had cooled. Up to you. Other than that, no changes. These were really tasty.


For some odd reason I had been craving gingerbread. I haven’t had it in years. My mom used to make it on a fairly regular basis. Don’t guess I have had it since I lived at home. (And that was a LONG time ago….) As is my habit now I checked other foodie sites looking for a Really Good recipe. Surprisingly, not many foodies make gingerbread. At least I couldn’t find any with a recipe. I did find one at The King Arthur’s website. Instead of listing the recipe here, you can just go to their site. dsc030161Look at those flavors. How can you possibly go wrong with those. Cinnamon. Cloves. Ginger. Molasses. The depth of flavor in the gingerbread is fantastic. I don’t remember my mom’s being this dark in color and full in flavor. dsc03017 Served warm with some sweet, fresh whipped cream – aahhh!!! **SIGH** It was wonderful!!!!