Okay, I know it’s not Monday, but I did start baking on Monday and nothing cute really went with Thursday. Sometimes ya just have to go with the flow….

Anyway, so I made several types of muffins. First I made Grace’s Strapplesauce Muffins These were really good. Very moist and lots of flavor. Just a touch of strawberry and a hint of chocolate. dsc02964 Thanks, Grace. These are keepers.
So, today I had some time and I we HUBS has been asking for something sweet. And I have to fulfill all baking requests – Don’t I?? Next on the list Banana Nut Muffins from my Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book.

    Banana Nut Muffinsdsc03050
    1 3/4 cups AP flour
    1/3 cup sugar
    2 tsp baking powder
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 beaten egg
    1/2 cup milk
    3/4 cup mashed banana
    1/2 cup chopped nuts
    1/4 cup oil

Prepare muffin cups (You will get b/t 10 and 12 from the recipe).
In a mixing bowl combine flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar. Make a well in the center of dry mixture.
In another bowl combine egg, milk, and oil. Add to dry mixture along with the banana and nuts. Stir just until moistened. Batter will be lumpy. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups filling about 2/3 full.
Bake at 400 for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Cook in pan for 5 minutes. Remove from pan and serve warm. dsc03051These were pretty good, but I won’t make them again. Needed a little more flavor. Hubs liked them, tho’. Warm with a little butter, maybe a little sweeter. I will look for another recipe, but it’s not bad.

Then I made Cranberry Sweet Potato Muffins.dsc030531This recipe came from 2007 Taste of Home Cupcake and Muffin Mag. These are definitely not ones I will make again.

    1 1/2 cups AP flour
    1/2 cup sugar
    2 tsp baking powder
    3/4 tsp salt
    1/2 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
    1 egg
    1/2 cup milk
    1/2 cup mashed sweet potatoes
    1/4 cup butter, melted
    1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries,s chopped.

In one bowl combine four, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. In another small bowl combine egg, milk, sweet potatoes, and butter. Stir into dry ingredients until just moistened. Stir in cranberries. Fill prepared muffin cups 1/2 full. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Bake 375 degrees for 18 – 22 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes before removing to wire rack. Makes 12.

I did not have any fresh sweet ‘taters’, so I used some canned in syrup. Because I thought they would be sweet I cut the sugar to a little less than 1/2 cup. Shouldn’t have done that. I increased the cinnamon and the nutmeg, but I don’t think it made any difference. Also, I didn’t have anything but dried cranberries, but that was okay. As I was typing this up I discovered that I had not sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar as the recipe directed. Now, that could be why the muffins weren’t that good. They looked pretty tho’.