What happens when Good Cakes go Bad?? Or when Bad Cakes happen to Good People. Hold on to your hat, bakers. I have proof that cakes often rebel. Yes, it is true. Not all cakes come out perfect…..

AAARRRGGGHHHHH!!!!

AAARRRGGGHHHHH!!!!

I KNOW, it is a frightening and violent picture. Turn away if you must. Come back when you can handle the horror of it all!!! All I wanted was to make a nice Pound cake. A Lemon pound Cake. A Lemon Blue-berry Pound Cake. Want. Search! Find an admirable recipe. Lose recipe, start again. Find recipe, not what you want, but will do. For now.

    Lemon Blueberry Pound Cake.

      1 cup butter
      2 cups sugar
      4 eggs
      1 tsp vanilla
      1 tsp almond extract (I left this out.)
      1 tsp lemon extract
      3 cups cake flour
      1/2 cup milk
      3/4 cup blueberries

Cram butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Add vanilla, almond, and lemon extract. Fold in flour and milk alternately. Slowly fold in blueberries which have been gently shaken in a small amount of flour. Bake in a greased Bundt pan at 325 for one hour or until cake is done.

That’s it. That’s all. That’s easy. I made butter milk for the cake by using about 2 Tbl lemon juice and making up the rest of the 1/2 cup of milk. I increased the lemon extract to 2 tsp and left out the almond. I figured this would give me a nice tart, lemony flavored pound cake with the tart blueberries. And it did look pretty out of the oven but no so pretty after trying to ‘wrench’ it out of the pan. My son liked it. My Hubs liked it. I didn’t think it was lemony or sweet enough. I will try again. This particular recipe came from a local church cookbook. (The blueberriess were good tho’!)

