Diana of Di’s Kitchen Notebook Round of applause, please, for the lucky winner. She said it was a hard choice between Sur La Table and Williams-Sonoma because there is one of each near her. Lucky Lady!!! I am lucky we have a small kitchen store across the river which carries next to nothing. But in the end she chose Sur la Table. YAY!!!!!

It was interesting to read about your favorite gadgets and I wasn’t a bit surprised to read that the KA mixer was probably most peoples favorite. And I can understand why. Like Wendy at Pinkstripes said, you can walk away and do something else and not have to look over your shoulder every 30 seconds. Well, that is not EXACTLY what she said, but I know that is what she meant.

I want to thank all of you for coming by and visiting with me this past year. I have enjoyed visiting your blogs. And reading your stories. And using your recipes. And seeing your hits and misses. Thanks for a fun year!!!

So what did I cook new this past week. Well, I used a recipe from Paula Deen and made

    Chicken Enchiladas

I have several of her mags stolen borrowed from my mom gave me and I enjoy reading her recipes. Oh! And one dessert book. **SIGH** She has some great recipes in her mags (if the pics are any indication) but until now I really haven’t had time to use any of them. I especially want to try the desserts, but that’s 50 lbs from now. Yeah! Yeah! I know!! I keep saying that. All that butter, etc., is NOT low carb/low fat.
I have been thinking enchiladas for a few days now. Been reading fellow blogger’s description of their ‘ladas. It’s now or never. Several bloggers mentioned how good they were.dsc03146 (Sorry about the the pic – bad lighting).

Paula’s Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Cream Sauce

    3 cups chopped cooked chicken (I used shredded – about 3 large breasts)
    1 (8 oz) pkg. cream cheese, softened (I used low fat)
    1 (8 oz) container sour cream (Here, too.)
    1 (8 oz) pkg. Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
    1 onion, chopped
    1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro (I didn’t have any, used parsley instead.)
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    1/2 tsp. salt
    1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
    24 (6-inch) corn tortillas
    Tomatillo Cream Sauce (recipe follows)
    1 (8 oz) pkg. Colby and Monterey Jack cheese blend, shredded
    Sliced green onions

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease two 13×9×2-inch baking dishes.
In a large bowl, combine chicken and next 8 ingredients. Spoon 2 Tbsp. of chicken mixture down center of each tortilla. Fold sides over, enclosing filling. Place filled tortillas, in a single layer, seam side down, in prepared baking dishes.
Spoon Tomatillo Cream Sauce evenly over enchiladas.
Sprinkle with shredded cheese. Bake 35-40 minutes, or until hot and bubbly. Garnish with sliced green onions, if desired. (I found her recipe on line at Lazy Wife)dsc03144

So, how was it??? Hubby and Hunk didn’t care for it – too much cream cheese. “Can you cut down on the onions??” I actually liked it. We had it with some Spanish Rice. (recipe later) They liked the rice.

Will/Did I do anything different??Well, of course… First of all I don’t really care for tomatillas, so I made a simple Enchilada Sauce from Emeril. It was good. And easy! Next time, less cream cheese. Next time, saute onions first.

For those of you who want the Tomatilla Sauce:

    1 (28 oz) can tomatillos, drained
    1 (14.5 oz) can chicken broth
    1 (4 oz) can chopped green chilies
    2 tsp. ground cumin
    2 tsp. chili powder
    1/2 tsp. salt
    1 cup heavy whipping cream

In a large skillet, combine tomatillos, broth, chilies, cumin, chili powder, and salt. Bring to a boil over medium heat; reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes. Remove from heat.
Pour mixture into container of an electric blender or food processor. Pulse mixture several times until smooth. Return mixture to skillet; stir in cream, and cook 2 minutes on low. Makes 5 cups.

BTW tomatillaThe tomatillo is a smallish, bright green fruit that develops inside a papery husk. As a native of Mexico, it is used mainly in salsas and sauces, contributing both taste and color.

Until Next time….. Hasta la Vista, Baby!!!