I have stopped buying cookbooks – well, sorta, kinda, maybe. Why??? You ask!!! Well, with so many good great cooks in the bloggersphere it just seems like a ‘waist’ of shelf space — sorta, kinda, maybe. If I want to try something new I go to my blogging friends and try their recipes. Thus, the title, “Blogger Bites“. A couple of weeks ago I tried Paula Deene’s Chicken Enchilada Recipe. Family did not care for at all asked me not to make it again, please. Since then I have been determined to find a recipe that they did ask me to make again. Search, search, search. Read, read, read. Scribble, scribble, scribble. By the time I had finished all the research, I had decided I liked several ‘bites’ so decided to try my luck at combining a few ideas into one. BINGO!!!dsc032691

Now, this was GOOD!!!

My thanks to Amy at Nook and Pantry for her enchilada recipe. And for her Mexican Rice concoction, too. I combined her ideas with Alan’s from Allstar Mexican Food. And then I went to Elizabeth of My Home Cooking. Her site was a great site for some step by step instructions. Between the three of them I came up with a pretty good ‘concoction’ myself for enchiladas.

    Beef Enchiladas
      1.5 pounds ground chuck
      3/4 cup onions, diced
      2 cloves garlic, diced
      1/2 tsp salt
      1/4 tsp pepper
      2 Tbl chili powder
      1/2 tsp oregano
      1 – 1.5 tsp cumin
      3 – 4 cups Tomato sauce
      10 – 12 8″ corn or flour tortillas
      Shredded cheddar or Mexican mix cheese

    Preheat oven to 450.
    Brown ground beef until no longer pink. Remove from pan leaving grease in pan. Brown onions and garlic in pan. Add chili, oregano, chili and continue browning until onions and garlic are tender. Pour in tomato sauce and simmer about 20 minutes. Remove about 1/2 – 3/4 cup sauce from pan and put aside. Add ground beef and simmer about 10 more minutes.

As for the tortillas, I found different ways of preparing them. Amy said she wrapped hers in foil and warmed while oven was heating. Elizabeth quickly fried hers to soften. Either way works. Since I didn’t want to fry I simply used Amy’s idea.


    Gently dip warmed tortillas in some sauce (I actually cheated and used canned enchilada sauce for this) in a shallow dish. Remove to plate and place about 1/4 – 1/2 cup sauce w/ beef, and shredded cheese on tortilla. (This is where Elizabeth’s instructions came in really handy.) Slide onto baking dish. Pour reserved meatless sauce over enchiladas and sprinkle shedded cheese over whole. Bake 20 – 25 minutes until cheese is well melted. (But not toooo long or cheese will be too brown and harden – and I speak from experience here!)


Hubs and The Hunk DID like these. And although a little messy to make, well worth it.