With Berries, that is. She never makes me sad. Not with the flavors she adds to ordinary crumbles, cakes, or anything else in Baking: From My Home to Yours. This week we all, The Tuesday with Dorie Bakers that is, made Blueberry Crumb Cake chosen by Sihan of Befuddlement. ).dsc03390 And it was a really good choice. A hint of cinnamon, a trace of Lemon (or OrangeTangelo in my case), a smidgen of Nutmeg all came together for a crumb cake that wasn’t too sweet and filled with Blueberries. Besides making only half a recipe (except for the cinnamon and nutmeg) I made a few MINOR changes. Well, not really minor. I made it lower sugar and lower Carb. I made the crumble on top according to the recipe, but I used Splenda in the cake and used a Low Carb Bake Mix (recipe below) instead of all the flour (about 3 – 1 exchange). The mix is made with almond flour so it had a nice nutty flavor which did not detract from the PECANS in the crumb top (we don’t really care for walnuts. My 6 inch springform was just right for 1/2 the recipe and I only baked it for 45 minutes. The top came out a little brown, but… The Splenda worked just as well with the zestdsc03384

dsc033851And for those of you who asked about my long zest pieces….

With a little ball of lemon sherbet or maybe a dollop of whipped cream.dsc03392 Perfect.

Thanks for this choice, Sihan.

    Low Carb Bake Mix
      1 2/3 cup almond flour
      2/3 cup whey powder
      2/3 cup vital wheat gluten.


      Mix together. 1 cup of mix can be used instead of 1 cup flour.

