Yes, friends, the gardens of America are starting to yield their yearly bounty of wonderful fresh veggies (don’t you wish we could grow seafood/meat, too?) And every year we all look for some new way to use up those delightful veggies. DSC03673 I don’t know about y’all, but I get a little tired of Casseroles with squash/zucchini/maters. Making marinara/tomato sauce. Frying, stuffing, grilling eggplant. Now, don’t get me wrong – I LOVE FRESH VEGGIES!!! But I crave something new…… So when we our good friend brought in a basket of squash I was facing the yearly dilemma. And then he said, “My granny used to make a pie from squash. Hated the idea of squash in a pie, but it was really good.” So I started thinking….. Gotta be a recipe for that out there. And there is!!

    This is from White Trash Cooking (Great Name!!)

      1 cup white sugar
      1 tsp nutmeg
      1 cup steamed yellow squash, mashed (About 2 large or 5 small)
      1 cup heavy cream
      3/4 tsp salt
      3/4 tsp ginger
      3 eggs
      1 9″ unbaked pie shell

      (I used Dorie’s all purpose crust)
      Add sugar, salt and spices to squash and mix thoroughly. Beat eggs and add cream. Mix with squash. Pour mixture into unbaked pie shell. Bake in hot oven (450 degrees) for 10 minutes. Reduce temp to 350 degrees and bake for another 40 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.


I gotta tell y’all. This is go-od. It was like a custard pie with squash in it. Very tasty. But I would make a few changes next time.

    1. I would partially bake the crust. The filling makes it soggy.
    2. I would increase the nutmeg and add about 1 tsp of cinnamon.
    3. I would use smaller squash so the seeds would not be quite as obvious.
    4. Try to reduce the sugar by using 1/2 Splenda.

Other than that, I wouldn’t change anything. I used my processor instead of mashing the squash and just added everything in after that. It came out quite smooth.

Great dessert. Add a little whipped cream (and I was out of cream so used Cool Whip – ugh!) and it was just right.

So we celebrated Memorial Day with the ritual BBQ, with the new Pie, and thoughts of our Dads, Brothers, Sons, Moms, Sisters, Daughters, Uncles, Aunts, Friends who gave us the chance to have those BBQs, gardens, free speech, and the other rights we enjoy on a daily basis.