Daring Bakers/Kitchen!!! Tuesdays with Dorie!! Cake Slice Bakers!!! Whats a blogger to do??? How do you keep up with all the blogging events, and non-events – Magazine Mondays, Bread Baking Babes, My Kitchen My World - and not gain 500 pounds??

      YOU SCALE BACK!!!

There a many who scale back on a regular basis. Caitlin of Engineer Baker has even done a 1/6th recipe. Bless her!! And many of us do it whenever possible. The hardest part is figuring out the measurements. So, I am here to help. Not that I am a whiz at math, but I was looking thru’ a back issue of Cooking for 2 and ran across a chart of measurements. It has 1/2 and 1/3 reductions and I am going to add 1/4 reductions.

reduceThe chart below is for 1/4 of the recipe

reduce2 I hope this helps, I know I am going to tape a copy inside my cabinet door above the stove – with other stuff I cannot survive without.


Now, that being said this recipe came from the same issue (Premier).
Skillet Squash and Potatoes

    1 small potato, peeled and thinly sliced (I like mine with the peel)
    1/4 cup chopped onion ( I used thin slices)
    1 Tbl veggie oil (I prefer butter and a little Olive Oil)
    1 small yellow summer squash, sliced
    1/4 tsp salt
    1/8 tsp pepper
    Dash Paprika

In a covered skillet over medium-low heat, cook the potato and onion in oil for 12 minutes. (I usually layer my taters and onions with the taters on the bottom and let them brown just a smidge.) DSC03662 DSC03663Add squash; cook uncovered for 8 – 10 minutes or until veggies are tender, stirring occasionally.

DSC03664(I usually replace the cover for about 2/3 minutes and steam the squash after the potatoes are almost done rather than after 10/12 minutes of cooking the taters, so they don’t get too soft.)

Season with salt, pepper, and paprika.

A good side not too heavy and another use of squash (if you don’t feel like making squash pie.)DSC03719

