Between our garden and that of a friends I have my own CSA box – sorta…DSC03833Zucchini! from our garden and Corn! Tomatoes! Cucumbers! from his!! So last night we had fresh corn on the cob and Zucchini Fritters!! DSC03818

2 Tlb peanut or canola oil, plus more for frying
1 large yellow onion, chopped
4/5 small to medium zucchini, coarsely grated
2 Tbl chopped fresh basil
2 tsp grated Parmesan cheese
2 eggs, slightly beaten
3 Tbl flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
Pinch Cayenne
Creme fraiche or sour cream to garnish

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the onions and cook until trtanslucent. Place the onions in a large mixing bowl. Cool to room temperature, then add the zucchini, basil, and Parmesan; mix well. Sift the flour and baking powder together and add to the onion mixture along with the eggs, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Mex well and let sit for 10 minutes. (My advice: let the grated zuchinni drain for a few minutes before adding to the mix.)I also added, as per suggested, bread crumbs for extra texture and it did improve the flavor.
Preheat oven to 200 F. Heat 1/4 inch oil in a large cast iron skillet or non-stick skillet until hot enough that a drop of water pops and sizzles. Spoon enough of the fritter batter into the oil to make 2- to 3-inch circles. With a metal spatula, flatten the fritters into disks (My advice: Spray back of spatula with Pam so the fritters don’t stick and flatten them quite thin.) Fry until golden brown on both sides, about 3 minutes per side. Remove fritters to a paper towel-lined plate and keep warm in the oven. Continue with remaining batter. Serve the fritters warm with a dollop of creme fraiche or sour cream.
Really good!My daughter gave me this cook book and it has some great fresh recipes in it.

And for my birthday…..

Ain't it Purty!!!  **SIGH**

Ain't it Purty!!! **SIGH**

My family loves me….