Bill's big Carrot Cake....

Bill's Big Carrot Cake....

Okay!!! Now that I have your attention. You will notice that it is not a picture of Dorie’s Brioche Plum Tart!! I still have some of that fantastic Carrot Cake from Dorie (and this is a catch-up) and this Zucchini Bread left. I just couldn’t bring myself to make a tart as well.

Zuchinni Bread

Zucchini Bread

Zucchini Bread
recipe from Colorado Farmer’s Market Cookbook.

    3 eggs, beaten
    2 cups sugar (I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splendra)
    2 tsp vanilla
    1 tsp almond extract
    1 cup veggie oil
    2 cups grated zucchini
    3 cups flour
    1/2 tsp baking powder
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 cup chopped walnuts
    1 cup shredded or grated coconut (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Beat eggs until light and fluffy. Add sugar, vanilla, almond extract and oil. Blend well. Add in zucchini.
Sift together dry ingredients. Blend with egg mixture. Fold in nuts and coconut. Divide the batter between 2 greased and floured loaf pans. Bake 1 hour. (This will also make 1 regular loaf and 3 mini loaves or 6 mini loaves.)


I served the Carrot Cake with Home Made Vanilla Ice Cream. DSC03864
Of course, THEN I was in an ice cream mode, so I made some more

Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

The recipe for the Cheesecake Ice Cream came from Megan of My Baking Adventures. And I added about 1/2 – 2/4 cup of pureed strawberries. Can I tell you HOW GOOD this was??? And next time I want to add some graham cracker crust to the ice cream itself. I could have eaten the whole container BY MYSELF. But I shared – a little!!!


And THEN because I was in Cheesecake mode – I made this:

Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake

Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake


Regular cheesecake layered with chocolate, then caramel, then chopped pecans on top of the crust. (One mistake – don’t use a ganache that will harden LIKE A ROCK – makes it hard to heat) I also swirled a little chocolate in the cheesecake itself.

Had enough yet??? Okay. UNCLE!!!

But I will leave you with just a photo or two!!

Mandevilla (B'day gift from The Son)

Mandevilla (B'day gift from The Hunk)


DSC03866 The ONE good thing about summer in the Deep South!!!

My apologies to Denise of Chez Us for not baking with her this week.


Thanks for taking the time to come by for a visit and a bite!

