This has to be one of the easiest and tastiest Dorie Recipes – EVER!! I love making Peach Cobbler and Apple Pie and Berry Galettes and Pear Dump Cake. But they all take time. This one, Not so much. And did I mention it was Tasty??

And topped with Dorie’s Vanilla Ice Cream. REALLY tasty.

So what is it? It is Dorie’s Cran Apple Crisp and it was the choice for last week – November 10th – but since we can post out of order this month I just made it this week. Should have made it earlier. Good!! Thanks to Em of The Repressed Pastry Chef for this one.

I only had three apples (seems people actually eat them in this house) including one Granny Smith, one Fuji and one Gala. Since the recipe called for four apples, I guess I made a 3/4 recipe. That gave me 8 crisps which surpised me. I kept the spices the same and the topping. You can always use extra topping – somewhere. So what changes did I make. Not many. Added chopped walnuts to some. I added white chocolate to some (sorry Nancy!) and to some I added both. Didn’t matter what I did, they were all good. In fact the ones with the walnuts were the best. Extra crunch in the crisp.

You HAVE to get this book – Baking: From My Home to Yours. But if you cannot, then visit Em’s site for the recipe and the other TWD Bakers for all of the November choices.

